Meet the Pickleball Pros - Carolyn Ebbinghaus

by pickleballfun on Sep 16, 2014

No Image

We’re featuring Carolyn Ebbinghaus today as we continue on in our “Meet the Pros” series. Carolyn eats, sleeps, and breathes pickleball and has found success at making her life revolve around our favorite sport!

Pickleball Pro Carolyn Ebbinhaus of Traverse City, Michigan with a yellow pickleball paddle in her hand

PBC: Can you list for us your major wins so we can correctly introduce you to our readers?

* Won the Gold in Women’s singles at the Nationals 2012, in my age group 50+

* Won silver, in Women’s doubles, age 50+, Nationals 2012.

* Won two bronze medals, Nationals 2013, one in singles- age, and one in mixed doubles- age 50+

* Won 5.0 mixed doubles open, 2014, at the Meijer State games

PBC: What paddle do you play with and why?

CE: I use the “Legacy” (the Legacy paddle by Pickleball Inc.). It gives me the extra power I need for put away shots.

Legacy composite pickleball paddle with blue accent and edge guard

PBC: What’s your pickleball story? How were you introduced to pickleball?

CE: I began playing pickleball at our local YMCA in Traverse City about 7 years ago. Only about 5 or 6 men played, and it looked very tough. I began playing every chance I could, and loved everything about the game.

PBC: What’s your preference -- playing indoor or outdoor?

CE: I love outdoor play. Here in Michigan, we get about a three month window of good weather, so I get outside and play every chance I get.

PBC: Do you like singles or double better? Why?

CE: I like doubles, singles wears you out faster.

PBC: What’s your favorite place to play? Why?

CE: I like playing locally, at the new courts we just had put in at the old YMCA!

PBC: What’s your “secret sauce”? Any tips for players?

CE: Out dink your opponent, let them make the mistake.

Carolyn Ebbinghaus on the medals platform at National Pickleball Tournament

PBC: What’s your day job?

CE: I teach Pickleball lessons and sell paddles and supplies at Pickleball Outfitters, where I am President.

PBC: How many hours a week do you play? How do you make time to play?

CE: I play out three hours a day, sometimes more, sometimes less. I do most of my business work in the morning, and then work around lessons and playing. I have a great job!

PBC: Any lucky rituals before a big tournament?

CE: I wear two different color socks. Always white, but the top band colors do not match, and I do that for luck.

PBC: Do you have any pickleball goals you’d like to share?

CE: My goal is to try to win another gold medal at the Nationals. The competition is tough, so any medal, is a goal.

PBC: Do you mind sharing about your personal life? Are you single? Married? Kids?

CE: I have a wonderful boyfriend, and I have a terrific 22 year old daughter. Both of them enjoy the game. I have a great, supportive family.

PBC: Anything else you’d like to share about your experience being one of the best pickleball players in the world?

CE: I have met wonderful friends in pickleball, all of which would give me a really hard time if I truly believed this last question. They do know,

however, that I have gone out and given it my best try, and hope to keep playing to the best of my ability, to be one of the best in my age group.

Thanks again, Carolyn!

by Miranda